Posted by: Growth for Today | August 20, 2013

Growth for Today

company-name-for-facebook.jpg

When I first started my coaching practice, I wanted a nice name that spoke to what I wanted to achieve as a Women’s Emotional Lifestyle Coach.  I wanted to speak encouragement and hope into women’s (and men’s) lives. I wanted my business name to be clever and stand out as well.  What I decided to call my coaching practice was Iris Slay, Growth for Today.  It has a nice ring to it, don’t you think?  More importantly, though, it says exactly what I think: we grow a little everyday, and therefore have growth today, tomorrow, next week, etc.

Growth for Today means that we all slowly grow each day.  We are like the flower in my logo that slowly grows a little each day.  The growth may not be evident today, tomorrow, or even next week, but over time, you will begin to see your own growth.  If we each continue to grow each day, we become the best person we are able to be over time.  One day, the small changes we made turn in to a big change, a big difference, and we see a better person inside.  I believe this is one of the most important processes in our lives.

Another idea about Growth for Today is that you get to choose your growth.  You get to be in control of how much growth you will have or experience.  You get to decide if your growth will be positive or negative.  You get to decide when you grow, and in what areas you will allow the growth.  Since coaching is all about the client, it allows the client to be and stay in control.  It also allows me to help guide the growth of my clients, and with my expertise, I can help them achieve the Growth for Today they desire, turning intention into reality.

Small growth is more manageable than large growth, and it’s unrealistic to think that we can change quickly.  True growth comes from little changes that happen on a regular basis.  Growth for Today truly believes and holds this mentality.  Coaching is very effective, but it does not happen overnight.  The same is true with a child learning to walk or ride a bike.  It takes time and practice.  When we grow in small ways, we are also more likely to keep those changes, and to incorporate them into our lives for the long-term.  Change is scary, but in bit-size pieces, it is manageable.

And, if we choose to see the small growth, we can celebrate it.  At Growth for Today, I celebrate with my clients when they grow in small ways.  We also celebrate when those small changes turn into large life changes and growth.  Celebrating growth, change, and milestones is very important to keep the momentum and changes intact.  Life is about celebrating the small and big moments, and it’s important to track and celebrate achievements, especially personal, in each person’s life.  Celebration is one of the most pivotal and overlooked steps to change!

I hope you have been able to learn more insights about Growth for Today, and my heart as well. I hope you are able to believe in what I do, and I hope you are finding growth for today in the weekly blogs you read.  My hope is that you are inspired to have growth for today and tomorrow and next month, etc.  Cheers to your growth for today!  And, if you would like to talk about your growth for today, please email me at info@growthfortoday.com.

Original content by Iris Slay, info@growthfortoday.com; www.growthfortoday.com


I would love to hear your thoughts and comments!

Categories